A Cupcake A Day…


I’m sure you have heard the saying “An apple a day keeps the doctor away.”  There are many other sayings that apply to eating fruits and vegetables helping to promote good health. There are even studies about benefits of eating chocolate, Sweet! So, why can’t I say the same thing about cupcakes from The Sweet Tooth? 

Ok, so that comparison might be like comparing apples to oranges, but there is still a point to be made.  While our cupcakes may not be as good for you as eating an actual fruit, they taste so good because they contain actual fruit.  Whoa, I think I just blew my own mind with that statement.  For example, to make our Apple of my Eye cupcakes, we peel and chop fresh apples and add them to the batter right before we bake them.  While the cupcakes bake, the flavor and the moisture from the apples spread throughout the cupcake.  We went through many apple types and amounts before we settled on the perfect match for the cupcake.  I dare not risk my job by releasing more detail about this cupcake.

Another great example is our Very Berry Cupcake.  Strawberry cake has always been one of my favorites, and I remember in college friends would bake them occasionally.  They were the store bought cake mixes that would turn out bright pink with pink frosting.  I enjoyed it at the time, but I would not be so tolerant of that type of cake now.  Amy chops fresh strawberries and adds them to a vanilla cake recipe she came up with.  When these cupcakes come out of the oven, they are loaded with a wonderful, natural strawberry flavor and small chunks of strawberries.  They are also very moist, and after you try one… you will not want any other type of strawberry cake. 

We have several other cupcakes that include actual fruit or vegetables in their recipes.  What’s up Doc is our Carrot Cake Cupcake, and Punkin Spice has pumpkin to give it flavor.  We use fresh lemon in the cake and frosting of our Pucker Up Cupcake and Pineapple in our Hawaiian Treat Cupcake.  We use some type of fruit in all of our Spring Cupcake flavors.  Jamaican Sensation is a two fruit cupcake with Mango and Pomegranate and there are cherries baked in our Cherry Meltdown Cupcake.  We round off our Spring fruit extravaganza with raspberries and lemons in our refreshing Raspberry Lemonade Cupcake.  Oh yeah, we use actual peanut butter and peanut butter chips in our Peanut Butter Dream Cupcakes!  If it were up to me, peanut butter would be a fruit as well, as a matter of fact I’m going to make it a vitamin. 

So I can’t officially say, “A cupcake from The Sweet Tooth a day, keeps the doctor away”  I did come up with a pretty good idea.  If you treated yourself to a cupcake after each trip you made to your doctor, you would feel a lot better about future doctor’s visits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Cupcake A Day…

  1. Misty says:

    Oh my goodness, that is hilarious! I love your creative saying 🙂 and I just about spit water all over my laptop when I read “whoa, I think I just blew my own mind with that statement”. LOL You’re a real comedian today!

Leave a Reply

