Over 250 Cupcakes – Each Deserved

To say we had a busy week this week would be a major understatement.  We were running a special promotion to increase sales for Valentine’s Day and it worked.  We were receiving order after order, and as they say when it rains it pours!  While we were making the final preparations to complete our Valentine’s Day orders, I received an email from Angel at OOIDA.  She already ordered a dozen Valentine’s Day cupcakes, so I was curious to find out what she needed.  OOIDA or the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association is a national trade organization that represents professional truck drivers headquartered in Grain Valley, Missouri. Angel asked if we could make 22 dozen cupcakes for an event they were planning in 5 days!  I ran it past the boss, Amy, and she said we would find a way to do it on top of the Valentine’s Day cupcakes that were due just two days before the event.  I sent Angel the details, and an invoice and went to get more supplies.

Amy did a lot of baking and a lot of frosting to make sure all the cupcakes were ready.  I was making a plan to get the cupcakes delivered and set up in time for the event.  I dropped cupcakes off on Valentine’s Day at OOIDA and Angel showed me where I would be setting up the stand with the cupcakes.  This was the first time we used this stand at an event, and I was a bit nervous about setting it up.  I have a car, and I had to fit the stand and over 250 cupcakes inside and make it all in one trip (Amy is trying to convince me that we should get an SUV). 

It was the day of delivery, all the cupcakes were made and I was able to fit everything in my car.  I made the short drive to Grain Valley and there was a great parking space waiting for me right up front.  I checked in at the front desk, and everyone at OOIDA is so friendly and helpful and got a cart loaded with all the goodies.  The event was in the cafeteria, and I was setting up at lunch time so it was a little busy.  I heard so many great things about how great our cupcakes looked and smelled.  A couple women asked if we were going on Cupcake Wars anytime soon, as soon as we get the invitation we will be there!  I overheard a couple women plotting to run me over with a scooter so they can run off with some cupcakes, LOL.  They never went through with it, but they got cupcakes anyway. 

I was able to get everything setup in time without losing any cupcakes.  We plan for the worst and bring extra cupcakes just in case.  I took a few pictures, OK I took a bunch of pictures, and headed out.  I returned today to pick up the stand and Angel let me know the cupcakes were a hit!  She also gave me more information about the event and I think it is important enough to share.  OOIDA held an Employee Appreciation Day yesterday for the 240 employees at their headquarters to thank them for all their hard work on their Truckers for Troops campaign.  OOIDA has hosted a telethon each year for the past 4 years, and this year they raised over $71,000!  They will use these funds to send care packages to our troops and have already sent out 350 packages this year.  For this accomplishment, they deserved the recognition and the cupcakes and The Sweet Tooth is honored to be a part of this great event!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Over 250 Cupcakes – Each Deserved

  1. Debz Buller says:

    WOW! What a fantastic blog today! I am so happy for you two – and to also see that your good works are helping others be appreciated for THEIR good deeds! Bravo, everyone!
    PS: no more photos – I am now STARVING for cupcakes and it is only 9:00 AM! lol

Leave a Reply

